Dew AWESOME

18 Jun

The BF and I were watching TV the other day when a Mountain Dew commercial came on. Now, if you haven’t seen it, I urge you to spare 30 seconds of your life to watch it. Go on, I’ll wait.

Now, what did that commercial make you feel? Did you feel exhilarated and ready to take on summer? Did you feel like your exhilarating summer hobbies must be accommodated by a bottle of Mountain Dew? Did you want to bungee jump into a sac filled with the drink? If it did, then kudos to Mountain Dew’s marketing team.

So, some guy bungee jumps off a crane and into a giant ball filled with Mountain Dew. The ball explodes, and our hero is covered in Mountain Dew. Then, he gets high-fived by a squad of excited teenagers. But WAIT, it’s really hot outside, he’s sweating buckets, and he needs to cool down with a bottle of Mountain Dew! He thoughtfully shares the drink by spraying it on everyone else. Everyone’s having fun.

The BF put it candidly

“Who the hell would want to be covered in that sugary shit?”

Now here’s some food for thought: It’s summer. It’s 30° – 33° Celsius (86° – 91.4° Fahrenheit) in Toronto every day. If we’re lucky, we’ll get some clouds and maybe a bit of wind. I can only imagine how hot it is in the rest of North America. Where are they showing this commercial? How is any of this supposed to make me, a [potential] consumer feel refreshed?

The reality is that Mountain Dew’s marketing team wants you to feel excited about Mountain Dew. They’re trying to brand it as AWESOME, with their “Dew Awesome” campaign. AWESOME things will happen to you if you drink Mountain Dew, and you’ll be surrounded by an AWESOME supportive crew. This is smart impression management, because we all want to make our lives more exciting, and be surrounded by supportive (and fun!) people.

I’ve tried Mountain Dew and I didn’t like it. My 10-year old brother is the only person I know that drinks it. And only if he can’t get Sprite or 7-Up. I don’t drink pop anymore, but if I did, Mountain Dew would not be my first choice. I find myself tempted by a freshly poured Coca-Cola at the concession stand at the movies. Or, a savoury Nestea on the rocks on a scorching hot beach day. Mountain Dew doesn’t appeal to my senses or nostalgia for my childhood, so this commercial fell flat with me.

How can they improve? I checked out the Mountain Dew website, and they have a variety of different flavours. They even have a little description of what each flavour tastes like. This is helpful because without these descriptions, I would associate “White Out” with well, white-out.

They should be advertising their other flavours aggressively and expose them to the soda-loving market. Promotional giveaways at sporting events would be their best bet. Their website showcases their summer/winter “Dew Tour” where they support skateboarding and snowboarding. Their commercials don’t even hint at these events. They need to tell us about these efforts if they want to cultivate and maintain that brand of AWESOMENESS.

What did you think of this commercial?

2 Responses to “Dew AWESOME”

  1. Alex June 20, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    You raise some excellent points. However this commercial was not made with your in mind. It targets children and younger teens… Ask your ten year old brother what he thinks…

  2. badvertisingblog June 22, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    You’re right. I’m definitely not the target market. This commercial excels in grabbing the attention of kids and teens. Their “awesome” campaign has a lot of unlocked potential with these audiences, though.

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

